“Liking” Whores

Published July 24, 2012 by Ms. Nine

When I read my favorite blogs in my reader, I confess, I sometimes just click the like button. Is that bad? I’m not making excuses for what one blogger calls “like whoring”, but some blogs take forever to load and some don’t load at all until I’m logged out of WordPress.   When this happens and I want to post a comment, I must log back in.  This nightmarish cycle continues when the page won’t reload.  What is going on?

To the blog writer featured on “Freshly Pressed” who ranted about how the “like”clickers were trolling for traffic to their own sites, your conviction to never do this is enviable.  I wish I could have commented, but your comments were closed.  Sometimes all we can do is click “like”.

So if I “like” your post and you have the feeling that I’m just a clicker, it’s not the case.  I’m finding it just too difficult to load your page.

If anyone has a solution for slow or no loads please share.

Thanks for stopping by!

46 comments on ““Liking” Whores

  • Great post. I have been frustrated with the Reader since it appeared. In fact, I find the whole thing confusing. It used to be that I would get an email anytime a blog I followed had a new post, now it’s about 40% the time.

    I have never received a ton of “likes” on any of my posts and sure, the teenager part of me makes a big frowny face, but the community of bloggers who routinely support my writing (and the vice versa) more than satisfies. I try to always throw support back at those who support me, as well as those who never do.

    I teach in a creative writing program for a living, and between my students, my colleagues, and my life experience…I know how tough a writer’s life can be. A random “like” just might make the difference between greatness and quitting. So even if someone is being a bit of a whore or troll, they might actually be helping.

    Would I like a few more “likes” or traffic? Sure. If everyone could just stop by my blog and click like a few times, my inner teenager might just come out of their room for an hour and eat dinner with the family.

  • Clearly, I don’t qualify as a “like whore” because it’s taken me a week to get to this post! :) I enjoy reading the blogs in my reader, which are a selective few, and try to give them my time, thought and on occasion, my opinion. As someone else said, I check the site of the person who liked my post, read their work and then thank them for stopping by. I usually return the favor with a follow or like.

    Blogging should be about sharing information and ideas. I’m not interested in being “freshly pressed.” Great thought-provoking post.

    Best,
    N

  • I like this post, but I’m reluctant to click ‘like’ because I’m not that kind of girl :)

    Seriously, though…’likes’ don’t offend me at all, but I do love actual comments too – the conversations make it even more fun. I have to admit, I fall behind on checking out the blogs that ‘like’ my posts, mainly because of time issues. I don’t get email notifications of likes, but I do check periodically to see who has stopped by.

  • I try and see who has liked me and go check out their site and read some of their material and then respond… I don’t care what they call it.. i have integrity and I care about all that I do.. and I like when anyone responds to my work it is fun….

  • Augh, I’m actually kind of anxious to like posts for this very reason! I’d hate to come off as an aggressive self-promoter. But I do it anyway because it seems like the polite thing to do–a way to say “I read this, and I thought it was interesting, thanks!” But I get likes from people who are probably spammers now and then, and I can imagine that some overly-cautious people would assume that /everyone/ was just self-promoting.

    But yeah, I don’t know why it bothers that person on the Procrastin8or blog so much. I can understand /wanting/ more in-depth and meaningful conversation on your blog, but it’s not like getting lots of likes is bringing the tone of their blog /down/ or anything.

  • I don’t mind anyone clicking like on my blog. My only issue is that if you click it I can only assume you agree or like everything I wrote and that’s where I find a problem. I like to engage in comments which is clearer feedback than a like. if I had like this entry you all wouldn’t know what I was thinking but this comment allows for that. Also, if you like something so much, why not share it? I’m sure if you got a new HP laptop with Dr. Dre speakers, you would tell your friends so they could get one(I just became a salesman for HP).

    We are all bloggers, we need to help each other out. When I started much people didn’t give me advice until Lincoln from http://www.thisisyourconscience.com did and since then I gained more confidence, not only in my writing but in trying to get my blog out there. That’s why I try to encourage new bloggers especially if their content is good. Sorry for ranting but the opportunity presented itself but we need to help each other because general readers who click like do not have bigger audiences than us.

  • well, i went and read this whole damn post… it is what made me decide to follow your blog. i am not a follow-whore nor like-whore, cos i actually really like to read all of the blogs that i follow and i don’t want a bunch of cupcake recipes or whining blog-diary writers gumming up my feed. i am tremendously selective about the blogs i follow and even with those i adjust my settings in regards to how they show up in my feed. i have some favorites that i even wish i could meet. so there, i think i might like your blog, and prolly you too. :) but i do have that same problem you mentioned, about the whole “logging in to like” thing; don’t get it.

    • Thanks for the follow. I share my writing life – that’s it. If I have a recipe to share, there’s a story behind it.

      Keep a secret? Sometimes I’m a shameless “like whore”. I blame it on the log in and out thing. Just drives me nuts.

  • I echo what most have said. Wow. It never even crossed my mind to go liking other blogs for my own personal gain. Most of the time, I’m reading blogs when I’m taking a break from my own writing and unless they really strike me (like this one!) I don’t have the brain cells to compute a comment. The like button offers me the opportunity to encourage the blog author with silent support and appreciation. And that’s how I take it on my blog! (And I love seeing you there, Ms. Nine!)

  • I would still thank anyone and everyone- even for the like :) Its not easy to be heard in this world these days- people have a poor attention span :)
    Absolutely no complaints@likes :)

  • I thought that the recent FP article regarding gratuitous likes was a bit harsh. As many people have already mentioned here, sometimes I just like a post and skip commenting because I don’t have the time or don’t know what to say. Especially with photo blogs. If 25 people have already left a comment saying “beautiful photo” what can I possibly add by leaving a similar comment?

    As I start following more blogs and try to build a rapport with other bloggers, sometimes I’ll just like the latest post to let them know I haven’t forgotten about their blog.

  • Hahaha when I first saw this title in my reader, I didn’t know quite what to expect.

    I wouldn’t worry about it. I think most of “like” some posts because if we put a ton of thought and time into commenting on every post we read, we’d have no time to sleep, eat or breathe. Sometimes you just “like” something without having a whole lot to say, or you “like” the writing style without knowing much about the subject, or you’re interested but not completely invested. Or like you said, the page doesn’t load when it should (by the way, I’ve heard that changing your RSS to summaries instead of full text will help with the loading issue).

    I’m kinda new to WordPress so maybe I’m just not getting what the problem is. If some people seem to be “like” whoring, the easy solution seems to be not to follow them back or read their posts if it’s bothersome. In general I like the “like” button a lot (on facebook as well as here). Especially if you have a busy life, it’s a great, convenient way to say, “hey, great job, liked the post!” on the go.

    • Oh, I totally agree. On the go “likes” communicate an appreciation and, at the least, an acknowledgement. When I see gravitars on my posts, I smile. To me, it doesn’t matter if the reader has spent two minutes putting it there, or two seconds.
      Thanks for your comment.

  • I follow far too many blog to always comment on them all I do always try to read every post but somedays if it is a reblog I might not alway follow to the original site unless it is something that really appeals. I have had lots of people visit and like then never return after i have repaid the visit but that is their choice there will always be some who visit to boost their own numbers but you soon learn that the people you value and appreciate are those who take the time to comment even if only every now and again and those who we say day after day come back and click like we know will comment when they have something worthwhile to say

  • Apparently, I haven’t grown accustomed to the unwritten rules of being a blogger. I do actually read quite a bit of the likely forty-eight blogs that I follow. Either, I have nothing interesting to say about what has been written, or my mind is filled with other things to the point that I’m unable to create a valid comment that would follow suit. In those cases, I simply wait until I have a clear mind in order to leave a comment, if I decide to comment at all. Other times, I’ll simply read and ‘Like’ to show that the thoughts that have been shared have been enjoyed.

    • Me too. Does that make us “like whores”? Too funny. I cherish every “like” I get (insincere, automatic, or other wise)
      I’m not so naive as to believe everyone who likes my post has actually read the whole of it.

      • I think the whole ‘Like’ Whore process is actually a result of simply clicking the ‘Like’ and moving on to another, for the sole purpose of gaining traffic to a blog. To ‘Like’ an entry after reading a bit of it, or all of it, I wouldn’t think is grounds for considering oneself to be a ‘Like’ Whore. — Having said ‘whore’ thrice now, makes me think I should get back to erotica.

        Loading times of pages differ due to many varying features. The length of the entry, along with how many large (in terms of size; Kb/Mb) images are included, videos that may also be included in the entry, etc. Also, if your browser automatically wipes clean any cache files (history files) that have accumulated, you could turn it off to increase loading time of pages recently viewed. Over the passed couple of days, I have also noticed that WordPress has been acting a bit strange by itself; I’m guessing due to updates or upgrades in software and the like, which could contribute to longer loading times.

    • “Either, I have nothing interesting to say about what has been written, or my mind is filled with other things to the point that I’m unable to create a valid comment that would follow suit.”

      This is a pretty good summary of my thoughts on this subject. I try to only add a comment if I think I can add anything of value to the conversation. However, I still hit the like button to let the blogger know that I read the article and found it interesting.

  • You put a pingback on my blog – thank you :)

    The issue that those of us have is that there is a good proportion of bloggers that click “like” on everything. Some of us acquire half a dozen likes before the post has registered a single hit; some register likes moments after they have gone up and if they are particularly long it is clear they have not been read. And it is always the same bloggers too.

    • It takes me about eight seconds to read the first 50 words, one nano second to like, and thirty minutes to load the page. Sucks when pages won’t load. Please don’t black-blog me.

      • haha, well I’ve never seen your gravatar before so you’re ok ;)

        I’m talking about those who click like on every post on every blog. There seems to be no limit to their interests. I think we all know by now who those blanket-like bloggers are

  • I “like” a lot of blogs without commenting. Sometimes I simply appreciate the post but don’t have anything to add. If I simply write “Great post” isn’t that just as bad as “liking” for the sake of traffic? I don’t see what the big deal is. Especially since someone created traffic to come to your blog and hit “like” so what’s so wrong about you clicking on their blog to see what they’re about? Everybody gets traffic. Everybody wins. No?

    Great post. :-P

  • What do you think?

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 327 other followers

