Higher Education

Published August 23, 2012 by Ms. Nine

 

Nerner Moore White (Public Domain) via Wikimedia Commons

For the first time in over fifty years, I’m not preparing to enter a school building. When I stopped teaching and started writing full-time, I didn’t anticipate the feelings I’d have at the start of this school year.  I feel like a blood hound sniffing for a lost scent.  For Heaven’s sake, where are my crayons and wheat paste?

When you think about it, school consumes a large chunk of your life.  You might be a student, a teacher, or a parent of a school-age child; sooner or later you’ll march through the doors of a school building.  For many of you, that time is now.

As you poke through your school memories, you’ll find moments of truth.  If you’d like, share them in a comment.

Have a great year and thanks for stopping by!

 

15 comments on “Higher Education

  • I love the rhythm of the school year. I always think that it will be time for me to leave teaching when the fall comes and I’m unwilling (or unable) to be patient enough to weave the web of intimacy with a class that comes from spending 175 great days together. I know that I want what I accomplished with the last class–but I have to be willing to go back to the beginning and create new relationships. And that takes time–and energy. And when I don’t have it, I wonder if I, too, will be like the blood hound who can’t find the scent. Dan

  • Thanks for checking out my first attempt at a blog. While there’s the definite cathartic function of one, I still feel rather naked. I am lingering over coffee and reading your blog. This post is one I can relate to, although i don’t have so many years of teaching under my belt (which I don’t wear anyway) as you do.

    I do love the smell of chalkboards, the gleaming wax on hard wood floors. The sight of a long hallway with doors open to knowledge has always filled me with awe. I learned to read early and the thrill of learning is one I have tried to share with my own six children. Not teaching this year is a huge adjustment for me. I feel that I have let some students down who graduated last year and promised they would be back just to visit me during their break.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  • I didn’t start writing until my kids were nearly done with high school; we homeschooled while in the UK, which took a plentiful chunk of time. Then we moved back to America, kids finished in public high school, one off to college. So… my last school memories are of their days, and one of my faves is the four of us reading Shakespeare in the living room. We took various characters, not always sticking to the same ones for the entire play. It taught my youngest how to project, and when she started high school, she was always chosen to read aloud.

    As that time of year rolls around, I hope your writing soars!

  • I often enjoyed school, though I often learned more outside of school during my own research than during school hours sitting behind a desk. Teachers usually bore me. There was only two that made a huge impact in my life; one was the most awesome teacher I ever had, and the other thought it was wise to follow me from second, to fourth, then to sixth and seventh grades. Needless to say, she was rather annoying.

  • I recently went through an old box filled with tons of schoolwork from my youth. I find that, the longer time goes on, the more I’m able to release. Only a few things from back then were meant to stick with us.

  • Ah…school. My father accused me once of not having the courage to leave the Ivory Tower, and when I got my M.A., way back in 1983, he called me “over-educated and worthless.” Can anyone ever really be over-educated? I guess if you are arrogant about what you know (or think you know), then maybe you’re insufferable, but not over-educated. And, maybe I was arrogant. Who can remember?!

    Now that I’m 58, I’m humble. Very humble. After all, much of what I learned all those years ago has been either forgotten, or is now long -out-of-date and inaccurate.

    When the college course catalogs come rolling in for my sons, I still roam the pages, looking for those classes I’d love to take…and usually I’ve got about ten paged “dog-eared” by the time I’m done. Yet, working full time as a freelance writer means I spend 80% of my time writing (or thinking about writing)…and I never enroll for any one of them.

    Enjoy your classroom time for me, dear new friend. I admire your courage, your resolve, and know – truly KNOW – you’ll be a successful student (however you define one).

  • What do you think?

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 327 other followers

