Mixing Business With Pleasure

Published June 27, 2012 by Ms. Nine

 

If you’re a writer not concerned about earning money, you’re a true artist.  Who cares if anyone buys you’re creative works?  You do it because you love it.  When you write, you don’t think about life’s minutia.

In truth, there’s a gnawing inside your brain.  You hear the hamsters chewing the cage bars.  When you’re writing, you’re the hamster on the wheel.  Where are you going?  Like the hamster, you don’t care.  You’re moving.  You’re writing.  The wheel is spinning.  It’s fun.

For decades you paid your own way doing something else.  Now, you don’t even see the bills coming in.  Someone else is funding your fun.  You’re the gnawing hamster, chewing into your guilt.  The fact that someone else enjoys supporting your endeavor doesn’t stop the gnawing.

You put it out of your mind.  It’s easy when you’re writing.

Your writing time ends at five when the expectation is family time.  Writing is your job, you’re not getting paid, and your happiness is diminished a little.  You’ve been spinning along with the planet for hours.  All you’ve gained are pounds on your derrière and black marks on a white background.   Right now, no one is asking how much money you made today.   Are you the only one concerned?  You tell yourself that you’re too selfish, too self-absorbed, and too self-indulgent.  Your valuable brain time is being wasted seeking  justification, affirmation. Stop it!

Go ahead – chase your dreams.  You’re not getting any younger.  Write on!

25 comments on “Mixing Business With Pleasure

  • I don’t care about the money, but I haven’t quite reached writing for fun yet. I put off starting my next book for precisely that reason: to explore other means of writing in order to increase the pleasure of writing.

  • Was this your post for TWW? I only ask as I couldn’t find the words for this week in it. If there is another, care to point me at it so I can read and comment, please?*smile* Aside from that, loved this. Must admit, I’ve never given a thought to money and fiction writing, but I do make a little from grinding out articles. I write because that’s what I do, who I am, and some people seem to enjoy it, so I’ll whirr that wheel a little longer yet *wink*

  • I can relate to the hamster on the wheel. I do hope to one day be paid for my writing, but the day job gets in the way 🙂 Maybe the hours spent writing are indulgent, maybe they’re an investment in my future. Then again, maybe it’s just something I enjoy so it doesn’t matter either way!

  • Loved this! I feel this way about my writing. For me it’s not just a “way to make money” or a “skill” I should develop. It’s a way in which I live my life. I do it because it makes my day every day.
    Thanks!

  • Beautiful! Just what I needed today, thank you! I’m a stay-at-home mom and writer, and I just finished my first novel. LOTS of work. No money (yet). Writing feels like an indulgence and yet I know it’s what I’m supposed to do. Your post nailed it for me.
    Anna

  • What do you think?

