Addicted

Published July 19, 2012 by Ms. Nine

 

Blogger Addiction

I wonder if I’ll ever just write a post and forget about it.  Will I ever stop looking at the numbers? Will my heart stop skipping beats whenever the comment tag flashes? This blogging thing had infiltrated my brain wirelessly, silently, invisibly.  Deadly.  I spend more time writing my blog and watching my stats than I do writing my wip.  Bad.

And don’t mention the reader aspect.  I love to read other writers’ blogs!  I have books, real books, which are gathering dust on my nightstand, but the fascinating work of on-line writers is too compelling.  So I thought… What if I stopped for a week?  What if I tore myself away from the internet?  Would I wither away and die? Would I collapse?  Would I fall into a crevasse?  I can’t imagine the unthinkable.  How would I navigate the new world of writing?

I took the test and I’m 74% addicted.  It’s time to take action! So I tell myself to get faster at writing.  Multitask.  For today, my laptop is open for me to work on my wip and my desktop is open to my stat page.  I’m going to chart my progress.

Thanks for stopping by!

Don’t read this.  It’s too scary.  Addiction or Conviction?

43 comments on “Addicted

  • I’m glad I’m not the only one who checks on the stats way too often!

    Aside from that though, or truly spending hours upon hours in front of the computer, or ignoring your wip completely, I don’t think it’s all bad. I honestly felt like the author of that article you linked to was a bit over the top. Maybe I’m naive since I’ve only been on WordPress a month or so, but I felt like that author was making it all sound way more pathological than it really is.

    Of course, it is addicting, and maybe we could all cut back a little, and certainly refreshing the stats page incessantly isn’t doing any of us any wonders, but on the other hand, think of all the people we get to network with, all the great and interesting posts we get to read, all the topics we get to ponder and perhaps write about and all the things we learn and are exposed to because of reading others’ blogs.

    I would bet that blogging has also had tangible and positive effects on your writing, and I don’t think those should be discounted. But maybe I’m just in denial!

  • It’s obviously the struggle between the teacher in you and the writer in you. The teacher in you wants to see the progress of others around you. The writer in you wants to finish the wip. However, the writer in you is also curious about the progress of others around you and is all too willing to let the teacher take over for a bit. I know the experience all too well.

  • I think, just my opinion here, that Dr. Juliann Mitchell, PhD. has an issue with not editing. There are two errors in her article that my proofreading eyes caught on the cold read. Is there a cure for professionals who make literacy mistakes? Should we trust her competency.. when she’s also proved herself to be partially human?

    I also happen to think that most of those ‘psycho’s only become the psychos because of their unhappy childhood. They wish to make other people just as miserable as they were growing up. The only difference is: They get paid to tell you that you have issues that they’re still trying to overcome. How smooth is that?

      • Oh no, take it seriously. Only as seriously as you would like to take it, though. Everyone makes mistakes by making their own decisions. To simply follow the advice of others, letting your life be based on the idea of what another thinks you shouldn’t be doing, would only be denying yourself the right to learn and grow in your own unique way.

        As with anything else, blogging should be done in moderation. (Too much of a good thing can be bad.) Offering wisdom, comments, replies; it doesn’t seem too painful at a glance. However, if it is more of a distraction from other (more) important areas of life, then perhaps cutting back would be the best solution.

        It’s all about finding the balance that bloggers everywhere are struggling with.

        • The story takes place in the 1950s during the Cold War. The CIA was experimenting with LSD, other drugs, and torture in an attempt to create the perfect assassin, the Manchurian Candidate. The experiments are well documented. For many Americans, the ’50s was a time of innocent prosperity and patriotism. What happens to this innocence when it is faced with a decision to accept evil or perish? This is the crux of the novel.

  • Reblogged this on gracerellie and commented:
    If this is how you view your life. Well, welcome to the club. We’re stuck and we’re not sure we want to be unglued. What can I say, this is part of who we are. We’re writers who need to know that others are interested in what we think and have to say.

  • I do the same thing. I don’t have the internet at my home so I tend to stay at the library or McDonalds until I see some action on my site. It’s almost like you can’t leave until you’re validated that someone out in the blue yonder has found you and done something to show you. Likes and Comments, we’ve come to live for them.

    Keep it coming!!!

  • I’m a recovering blog checker. While I don’t run to my laptop every 20 minutes to see if a comment has been made on the latest post, I do check my phone. Not quite as bad, yet weaning for stat status is in steps. Thanks for stopping by my Room With A View post.
    Blue Skies,
    CricketMuse

  • Oh yeah…. something I have been thinking about too, I thought it was a beginners syndrome. No clue… 🙂
    Nice post.
    after that warning, do you seriously expect anyone to not read it? 😀

  • I think there’s another solution: Time. Eventually, after a year or so of blogging, you stop dwelling on each comment, visit, ‘like’. In a general sense, it doesn’t change much. Then, you’ll only pay attention when you have a ‘viewer drive’ to see if it works.

  • What do you think?

