Does it Matter?

Published August 10, 2012 by Ms. Nine

When I discovered blogging, I made a mistake and told my mother about it.  She didn’t get it at all.

“Why are you doing that?”

“It’s fun to write stories and read other people’s comments,” I said.

“How do you know they are who they say they are?  They might be scammers. You could get a virus, you know.”

Trying to tell my mother about secure servers, virus protection, and anonymity is like telling the Holy Father about birth control.  Why bother?

I simply said, “It’s safe, Mom.  I don’t even use real names.”

“So what.  Hackers could find out.”

“You know the story about the tree and the elephant cables?  Well, I write stories like that on my blog,” I said. “You’d get a kick out of them”

“I don’t go on the internet for stories.  My computer is too slow. No. No..No..I wouldn’t do that.  Can’t you just mail the stories? Just send them to me.”

We didn’t need to be skyping for me to see her shaking her head. I dropped the subject like a coconut from a skyscraper.  I told myself it didn’t matter if she reads my blog.  That was a fat lie.

Mom called today.

“I read your blogs, you know,” her sing-song tone sounded like a nananaboobee.

“Oh.” I said. I wanted to jump up and down, shout hallelujah, and do a cartwheel.  I was proud of her.

Silence.

“Well, what did you think, Mom?”

“There’re wonderful!….You should be writing your book.”  There it was – a “should be” – an admonishment dressed up and ready for church.

“I’m doing both at the same time,” I said.

“Okay, yeah, yeah,yeah… You remember Bob? Well, his father died and the funeral was yesterday…”

A funeral?  So she called to tell me about a funeral?

She told me she sang at the service, baked a cake, and brought over a casserole for the family.  When she received the thank-you note, she was baffled at how much her gifts had meant to them.  An implied  shucks it was nothing.  A lie.  Maybe she didn’t expect them to express their gratitude so deeply. I’m sure she appreciated knowing that what she did mattered.

“Mom, remember how grateful we were when Dad died and all those people brought food to the house? We sent thank-you notes, too.  Kindness matters.”

“Yeah, well…”

Not long after our conversation ended, it occurred to me that shucks, it was nothing was the same response I had made when she told me she reads my posts.  It matters.

Thank-you, Mom.

Happy writing and happy weekend!

32 comments on “Does it Matter?

  • Yes, in many different ways, it does matter. Sure, there are more interesting things that could be done, rather than sitting in front of a computer reading over what someone has said. However, what that person has said usually carries some merit along with it. Perhaps, it’s something that another should have also said; should have made known, when the chance arrived. Thanks to your post, if it has come up in the past for another, they’ll be able to direct whomever to this lovely entry and extend a ‘Thank You’ to whomever it was that they originally neglected.

    I’m glad to hear that your mother enjoys your entries as much as (likely more than) the rest of us. We, all of your readers, may not be able to be your mother, but we are still able to show you support in your writing and tell you that we’re proud of you for sharing your thoughts and opinions with us. Thank you. Yes, we are proud of you, too.

  • I think we have the same mom. Although mine would never own a computer. She’s still baffled why the neighbor lady, with a computer, knows more about my life than she does. Great post!

    • Haha…Wasn’t there a time when she had to know everything about your life? You can’t say to her, “But Mom, I posted it on FaceBook…”

      My mom likes to call to tell me about my siblings.
      “Beth is pregnant.”
      “I know.”
      “When did you talk to her?”
      “I read it on FaceBook.”

      As they say in the South, “Bless her heart…”

  • Enjoyed every bit of conversation. So many dimension, all in once post ! Overwhelming is the word 🙂
    Kindness does matter. Makes us a better person. Infact, why should we do anything that does not make a better person…

    Thank you so much for such a lovely post !

  • This is slightly off topic, but I guess not really. Only one of my friends (the real, not virtual ones) follows my blog, and she rarely comments. My virtual friends are more enthusiastic. Why is that?

    • I’ve connected my WP account to FB (the share thing), consequently, my friends click “like” on my FB page. How do your face friends know about your blog? Check your comment settings through the dashboard to be sure.
      There may be hundreds of people who have interacted with you in the real world, but it is a small audience.

      When you blog, you cast your net to the entire world. A audience of billions. There’s bound to be your audience in there. When they read your words -behold! You have a following.
      That is the beauty of it.

      This is a great topic to explore for a future post.
      Thank-you for your comment, Robin, and for giving me something to think about.

  • What do you think?

